The BMA’s grand front entrance designed by John Russell Pope ushered generations of visitors into the Museum from 1929 to 1982. The original entrance will reopen in fall 2014 to create a welcoming and memorable art experience for visitors. The terrace steps leading up to the historic threshold will serve as a vibrant gathering place for visitors and the Baltimore community.
Dorothy McIlvain Scott American Wing
Housed in what is considered the BMA’s largest work of art—the central building designed by John Russell Pope, nine adjacent galleries will feature a chronological presentation of hundreds of masterworks from the Museum’s expansive holdings of American fine and decorative arts.
The new presentation of one of the finest American collections on the East Coast will feature paintings, sculptures, works on paper, and decorative art objects dating from the colonial era to the present. Dedicated areas will showcase Maryland’s influence in art, architecture, decoration, and collecting, as well as a selection of stunning glass works by Louis Comfort Tiffany.
Louis Comfort Tiffany. Detail, Flower, Fish and Fruit. c. 1885. The Baltimore Museum of Art: 101 West Monument Street Corporation Funds, BMA 1979.173
East Wing Lobby and Zamoiski Entrance
A complete renovation of the Museum’s east entrance will create a more open and expansive central gathering place for visitors. Improvements include relocating the main stairs to create a more inviting pathway to the second floor galleries, erecting a gracefully curved wall to delineate an enhanced retail space, and refurbishing all lobby surfaces with modern materials and finishes. Enhanced visitor amenities include an expanded BMA Shop, more restrooms, and additional seating.
Click to enlarge